Written on behalf of Lundy Lundy Soileau & South LLP, Car Accident Lawyers Lake Charles, LA
If you were involved in a car wreck in Louisiana, you might be considering the need to file an accident report. Under Louisiana law, individuals are obligated to report the accident with local authorities if an accident incurs property damage over $500.00, injury, or death occurs. Likewise, if your accident results in property damage, injury, or death over $100, you need submit a report in writing to the Louisiana DPSC (Department of Public Safety and Corrections). Failure to notify the LADPSC within a period 24 hours of your accident, could yield a $100 fine, or even a prison sentence of up to 60 days.
Outline of an Accident Report
The information below outlines requirements for filing a car wreck report when you are required to do so.
In Compliance with Louisiana State Statutes (revised) Title 32 § 398 Report Your Accident When:
Your accident needs to be reported immediately to local authorities if your accident results in one or more of the following:
If your accident results in property damage, injury, or death over $100, you need submit a report in writing to the DPSC (Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections):
Directions for Reporting a Car Accident in Louisiana:
If your car accident included one of the above conditions, you are required to file an accident report with a local authority and send the report to the LADPSC within 24 hours of your incident. At a minimum, your report should include:
Louisiana State laws are subject to change. If you were involved in a car accident in Calcasieu Parish consult with local law enforcement, or a local firm about your obligations in reporting.
Ensuring Your Accident Report Was Received
Once you file your accident report with local authorities, you should be able to find your report online with the date of incident, the first and last name of those involved, along with the parish where your incident occurred.
If your report is deemed insufficient, the LADPSC could require those involved in the accident to provide a supplemental report, including potential eyewitness reports.
While most car damage and injury claims can be processed through insurance, additional legal proceedings may be required if the insurance settlement is inadequate. While attorneys prefer to speak with you as soon after an accident as possible, should you find yourself in a situation where the settlement will not cover damages, injuries, or both, reach out to a local car accident lawyer in Lake Charles Louisiana to review your documentation.
Lundy, Lundy Soileau & South, a team of dedicated attorneys ensuring victims’ rights and compensation.
How to File a Car Accident Report in Louisiana, Lake Charles Car Wreck Lawyers, Lake Charles Car Accident Attorneys
Areas of Practice
© COPYRIGHT 2019. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.