Although you may have filed an insurance claim related to Hurricane Laura, any new property damage caused by Hurricane Delta will allow you to file a second insurance claim.
A principle piece of information you need to know is whether your homeowner’s insurance policy carries a hurricane, named-storm or wind and hail deductible. Homeowner’s policies carry basic all peril deductibles which generally range from $250.00 to $2,000. However, after Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, separate hurricane deductibles, named-storm deductibles, and wind and hail deductibles were common in coastal states. These deductibles typically range between two and five percent of the insured value of your home. For instance, if your home has an insured value of $200,000 with a two percent deductible, you agreed to pay $4,000 out of pocket before your insurance “kicks in.” This means if the damage to your home is $4,000 or less, the insurance company will not be responsible for paying on your claim. You can find your deductibles on the first page of your homeowner’s policy or call your agent for more information.
The Single-Season Hurricane Deductible Law was enacted in 2009, the year after back to back Hurricanes Gustav and Ike hit in 2008. A single-season hurricane deductible lessens the financial impact a policyholder must bear when multiple hurricanes cause destruction to an insured property during a single storm season (or calendar year). This law helps homeowners limit the cost of recovery if they are hit more than once during a hurricane season or calendar year.
The Louisiana Insurance Commissioner stated in 2018, that insureds are responsible for only one hurricane deductible per calendar year. That means, if additional damage makes it necessary to make a claim in connection with Hurricane Delta, the remainder of your hurricane deductible or your policy’s peril deductible, whichever is greater, will apply to the Hurricane Delta claim.
*Individuals insured under Surplus Lines Insurance Policies may incur a second hurricane deductible as insurance companies providing surplus lines of coverage are not prohibited by Louisiana State Law from assessing insureds additional hurricane deductibles. Review your policy and/or contact your agent if you are unsure whether you have a Surplus Lines Policy.
If your first claim falls below your deductible and must be paid out of pocket, document the damage of that storm with photographs and keep receipts for replacement purchases and repairs. The money spent on damages related to the initial storm or hurricane can be applied to the next deductible should you sustain damage in a second storm during that same season.
Hurricane Delta insurance claims, understanding your hurricane deductible, Hurricane Delta insurance claims attorneys, Hurricane Delta claims lawyers Lake Charles LA
Recovering from a serious car accident can create a significant financial burden. It is especially true when the accident requires an extended hospital stay followed by time off work to recover. If you have been injured due to the negligence of another driver, you are eligible for several types of compensation. This compensation is meant to provide you with resources you will need to recover.
Forms of Compensation Injury Lawyers Can Help You Recover?
There are four areas of compensation in a car accident claim:
Reimbursement of your car accident medical expenses can include medical costs incurred during hospital stays, attending doctor's fees, medical equipment, medication, and physical therapy. If your injuries require continuing medical care, you could be eligible for compensation to assist with future medical treatment and any necessary modifications to your vehicle or home after the accident.
Lost income compensation includes reimbursement of income for the time you were unable to work while recovering and possible future loss of wages. For example, a contractor who suffers accident-related permanent damage in his hands or legs would likely be unable to continue building. If forced into a lower-paying job, he would likely be able to sue for future income loss.
Pain and suffering
Pain and suffering refer to the emotional and physical distress the injured experienced in the course of the accident and the recovery process after.
Punitive damages are infrequently awarded in cases involving car accidents. Punitive damages are usually awarded only when the driver's conduct was exceptionally irresponsible. An example would be if the perpetrator were a drunk driver, your injury lawyer in Lake Charles, Louisiana could ask the court, or jury, to award punitive damages to prevent the perpetrator from further dangerous behavior.
Who Pays for My Personal Injury Claim?
Most personal injury claims are paid by the at fault drivers liability insurance. When the at fault driver fails to carry insurance or has inadequate insurance coverage, your UIM insurance (uninsured/ underinsured motorist) coverage kicks in to pay your expenses.
When Do I Need a Lawyer?
In a straightforward accident, when there is minor injury, minor property damage and fault is undisputed, your claim can mostly likely be settle without legal help. However, when your accident requires hospitalization and extensive recovery is necessary – your injury compensation case can get complicated and require the help of an experienced personal injury attorney in Lake Charles Louisiana.
Have You Been Injured in A Car Accident in Lake Charles Louisiana?
If you have been seriously injured in a car wreck you should seek the advice of an experienced car wreck lawyer as soon you can. Consider the personal injury attorneys at Lundy Lundy Soileau and South. Allow their legal team to help guide you through these difficult times; call 337-439-0707.
Forms of Injury Compensation in a Car Wreck, when do you need a personal injury lawyer, personal injury attorneys Lake Charles La, injury lawyers Lake Charles La
Areas of Practice
© COPYRIGHT 2019. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.